The information we have indicates that the first creamery was built in 1907 and was originally owned by the Armstrong Trading Company. It was purchased by Charles White and Frank Shears in 1942. They sold it to Henry Hanson in 1950 and he was the last manager.
Henry Hanson had been the accountant for Armstrong Trading before he purchased the Creamery.
The creamery was in operation until at least 1967 according to the tax roll information. Mr. Hansen is listed as owning the property until 1970 but the building is not listed as a creamery from 1967-1970.
For many families, the cream cheque was often an important supplement to the farm income.
Cream cans came in several shapes and sizes. Once filled, they were shipped to the creamery. In the museum we are fortunate to have a small collection of them.
The creamery also provided steady employment and this helped the economy of the Village grow.
For more fascinating information on the history of the dairy industry in Manitoba, go to: https://www.gov.mb.ca/chc/hrb/internal_reports/pdfs/Dairy_Industry_Mb.pdf