When we think about getting to school in the early days in this municipality, we recognize that children had to face many difficulties in order to be able to get an education, particularly if they lived outside of town or attended a rural school.
As far back as anyone in Winnipegosis remembers, there had been a dredge with its tug and barges in the Mossey River. It is not known when the first dredge arrived, but one local story is that it dug its way down the Mossey River, which was much deeper then than it is now. There was a need for a dredge because the steam tugs found it difficult to navigate the shallow water at the river’s mouth
Summer fishing was extremely dependent on the harvesting and storage of ice.
Winnipegosis, Man. May 14. Situated at the mouth of the Mossey River at the terminus of the Dauphin branch of the Canadian Northern railway, is the picturesque village of Winnipegosis…
Dogs played an important role in our early history both as pets and as a means of transportation.
The picture above is of Douglas Rognvaldson and his famous racing dog, “Bozo”. He talks about hitching up their two dogs as a team to help do chores. Bozo loved to be in harness and run.
This above picture not only shows a dog sled on the Mossy River, it is also a picture of the first bridge built in 1909. This original bridge was repaired in 1923, redecked and restrung in 1959 and again in 1984. The walkway was added in 1986.
There are many versions and official accounts of this fascinating true story of the murder of old Peter Demchyzn.
Below are a couple news articles and accounts of the event that happened on October 14, 1930. Since the incident, the road became known to the locals as Murder Hill Road.